top of page

About the 1855 Classification of the Medoc

The Bordeaux Wine Official Classification of 1855 transpired from the era of Napoleon III. The emperor, Napoleon III requested that a classification system should be adopted for the best wines that Bordeaux (France) produce. The ranking system is based on brokers views within the industry, and these wines are rated according to a chateau’s trading price and reputation.

The Official 1855 Classification List for Red wines of the Medoc

The wines are ranked in importance from first to fifth growths (crus). Since the initial classification, there has been two historical changes made to date. Firstly, Cantemerle was added to the fifth growth in 1856, and the legendary Mouton Rothschild was promoted to first growth status in 1973 to sit alongside Lafite Rothschild, Latour, Margaux and Haut-Brion.

These wines were displayed to visitors from all over the world to view at the Exposition Universelle de Paris, coupled with art. Here, an international exhibition was held on the Champs-Élysées in Paris from 15 May to 15 November 1855 and gave host to in excess of 5 million visitors collectively with arts. This was an exhibition that shortly followed London’s great exhibition of 1851.

Below is the list for the Official 1855 Medoc Classification. Order of First to Fifth Growths (for red wines)

First Growths (Premiers Crus)

Château Lafite Rothschild, Pauillac
Château Latour, PauillacChâteau Margaux, Margaux
Château Haut-Brion, Pessac, Graves
Château Mouton Rothschild, Pauillac

Second Growths (Deuxièmes Crus)

Château Rauzan-Ségla, Margaux
Château Rauzan-Gassies, Margaux
Château Léoville-Las Cases, St.-Julien
Château Léoville-Poyferré, St.-Julien
Château Léoville-Barton, St.-Julien
Château Durfort-Vivens, Margaux
Château Gruaud-Larose, St.-Julien
Château Lascombes, Margaux
Château Brane-Cantenac, Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux)
Château Pichon Longueville Baron, Pauillac (commonly known as Pichon Baron)
Château Pichon Longueville Comtesse de Lalande, Pauillac (commonly known as Pichon Lalande or Pichon Comtesse)
Château Ducru-Beaucaillou, St.-Julien
Château Cos d’Estournel, St.-Estèphe
Château Montrose, St.-Estèphe

Third Growths (Troisièmes Crus)

Château Kirwan, Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux)
Château d’Issan, Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux)
Château Lagrange, St.-Julien
Château Langoa-Barton, St.-Julien
Château Giscours, Labarde-Margaux (Margaux)
Château Malescot St. Exupéry, Margaux
Château Cantenac-Brown, Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux)
Château Boyd-Cantenac, Margaux
Château Palmer, Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux)
Château La Lagune, Ludon (Haut-Medoc)
Château Desmirail, Margaux
Château Dubignon, Margaux
Château Calon-Ségur, St.-Estèphe
Château Ferrière, Margaux
Château Marquis d’Alesme Becker, Margaux

Fourth Growths (Quatrièmes Crus)

Château Saint-Pierre, St.-Julien
Château Talbot, St.-Julien
Château Branaire-Ducru, St.-Julien
Château Duhart-Milon, Pauillac
Château Pouget, Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux)
Château La Tour Carnet, St.-Laurent (Haut-Médoc)
Château Lafon-Rochet, St.-Estèphe
Château Beychevelle, St.-Julien
Château Prieuré-Lichine, Cantenac-Margaux (Margaux)
Château Marquis de Terme, Margaux

Fifth Growths (Cinquièmes Crus)

Château Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Château Batailley, Pauillac
Château Haut-Batailley, Pauillac
Château Grand-Puy-Lacoste, Pauillac
Château Grand-Puy-Ducasse, Pauillac
Château Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Château Lynch-Moussas, Pauillac
Château Dauzac, Labarde (Margaux)
Château d’Armailhac, Pauillac
Château du Tertre, Arsac (Margaux)
Château Haut-Bages-Libéral, Pauillac
Château Pédesclaux, Pauillac
Château Belgrave, St.-Laurent (Haut-Médoc)
Château de Camensac, St.-Laurent (Haut-Médoc)
Château Cos Labory, St.-Estèphe
Château Clerc-Milon, Pauillac
Château Croizet Bages, Pauillac
Château Cantemerle, Macau (Haut-Médoc)

bottom of page